Phoenix

Phoenix International was founded in 1972 near Brescia, Italy, and has gradually established itself as the European leader in the manufacture of aluminium extrusion dies. More than 50% of its turnover is generated abroad. The company’s customers are extruders who themselves work for a wide range of applications in the building, industrial (mechanics, pneumatics and electronics) and transport sectors.

The group enjoys continued growth driven by aluminium penetration in the various application markets and by its internationalisation. It has production and engineering units in Italy, Germany, Spain, Holland and China.

Value creation

Chequers jointly acquired the Phoenix group and the German company Wilcke, known for its premium positioning. The development projects are centred on the integration of this company, geographical expansion and the improvement of industrial processes. The plan is to continue with sector consolidation and further increase the group’s industrial efficiency.

Investment year
2016
Turnover at acquisition
€0-100m
Type of operation
MBO
Business sector
Industry
Country
Italy

Phoenix

Phoenix International a été fondée en 1972 près de Brescia en Italie et s’est imposée progressivement comme le leader européen de la fabrication de moules pour l’extrusion d’aluminium. Plus de 50 % de son chiffre d’affaires est réalisé à l’export avec une clientèle composée d’extrudeurs travaillant sur une grande variété d’applications dans le bâtiment, l’industrie (mécanique, pneumatique et électronique) et les transports.

Le groupe connaît une croissance continue portée par la pénétration de l’aluminium (recherche de réduction du poids) dans les différents marchés applicatifs et par son internationalisation. Il a des unités de production et d’ingénierie en Italie, Allemagne, Espagne, Hollande et Chine.

Le projet est de poursuivre la consolidation du secteur et accroître encore la part de marché du groupe.

Création de valeur

Chequers a mené conjointement l’acquisition du groupe Phoenix et de la société allemande Wilcke, société reconnue pour son positionnement premium. Les projets de développement sont centrés autour de l’intégration de cette société, l’expansion géographique ainsi que l’amélioration du processus industriel.

Année d'investissement
2016
Chiffre d'affaires à l'acquisition
0-100 M€
Type d’operation
MBO
Secteur d’activite
Industrie
Pays
Italie